Kansas Judicial Branch

Kansas Attorney Registration

Notice of 2024/25 Annual Attorney Registration

May 20, 2024

Annual registration for all Kansas attorneys is now open through the attorney registration portal. If you have not accessed your account since last January, you will be required to change your password. Due to enhanced security, passwords will now require 12 characters and you will be required to change your password every 180 days.

Please read and be aware of the following guidelines:

- The annual fee for active attorneys is now \$250 and includes the CLE fee. The fee for inactive attorneys is \$65. Attorneys on retired or disabled status are not required to pay a fee.
- It is mandatory to complete annual registration online through the attorney registration portal.
 Fees are due by June 30, 2024. Registrations completed online after midnight (CST) on June 30, will automatically be assessed the \$150 late fee. The attorney registration portal can be accessed through the kscourts.org website or directly at the following link:

https://registration-kard.kscourts.org

- Checks or money orders will not be accepted.
- After payment has been completed, a summary page can be printed. The system also emails a receipt to your "account" email address. Receipts will also be available under the payments tab after logging in to your portal account.
- Attorneys can also choose to have their firm or office pay after they have submitted their
 registration online. Office personnel can access the portal (without creating an account) and
 pay for a single attorney or multiple attorneys with one credit card payment as long as each
 attorney has submitted their registration online. Detailed instructions are available under <u>FAQs</u>
 and <u>Notices</u> on the portal. An attorney's registration is not <u>complete</u> until payment has been
 made.
- Attorneys who are currently on inactive status may change to active status when registering
 online for the 2024/25 licensing period <u>only</u> if they have been inactive 2 years or less. If you
 have been inactive more than 2 years, are currently on retired status, or your license is
 currently suspended, you will need to contact the attorney registration office for instructions
 and forms to complete before your status can be changed.
- The age to qualify for retired status is 65. You must be retired from the practice of law and be age 65 <u>before</u> July 1, in order to change to retired status for the 2024/25 licensing period. If you do not meet the age requirement, the option will not be available to you on the portal.

Change to inactive or retired status for the 2024/25 licensing period:

- Status change requests that will result in a lower fee or no fee for the 2024/25 licensing period
 must be received on or before June 30 in order to avoid paying the higher fee. For example, if
 you plan to change status from active to inactive for the 2024/25 licensing period, you must
 complete online registration before June 30 or you will be required to pay the higher active fee
 before the status change can be approved.
- If a status change request is not <u>completed</u> online by June 30, an attorney must pay the registration fee based on the attorney's status shown in their registration record as of July 1, including any applicable late fee, before the change can be approved.
- Status change requests to inactive or retired that are submitted when registering online are not
 effective until July 1, 2024. If you are currently on active status and submitting a change, you
 will still be required to complete CLE requirements by June 30, 2024, for the 2023/24 licensing
 period.

Change to inactive or retired status for the current 2023/24 licensing period:

- Status change requests to inactive or retired for the <u>current</u> 2023/24 licensing period must be submitted online through the attorney registration portal. (Click on "View/Update My Profile" to submit the change and choose the effective date.)
- To be relieved of the CLE requirement for the current year and pay the lower fee for inactive or no fee for retired status for the next licensing period, your request must be submitted no later than June 30, 2024.

NOMINATING COMMISSION ELIGIBILITY: In order to participate in any nominating commission election or serve as a member on any nominating commission, you must be listed on the certified roster that is provided to the Secretary of State. Only attorneys on active status may be listed on the certified roster. Your current eligibility choice can be verified when registering online. If you wish to change your eligibility selection, you can make that change when registering or you can log on to the attorney registration portal at any time and update your profile to change your eligibility choice.

Please use the "Forgot User Name" and "Forgot Password" links before contacting the attorney registration office. If you did not change your "account" email address prior to leaving previous employment and no longer have access to that email address, you will need to email the attorney registration office to request a change.

Registration notices and <u>frequently asked questions</u> can be found on the attorney registration portal website. Please review these resources before contacting the Attorney Registration Office.

Please communicate these annual registration guidelines to your office staff so they are also aware of the procedures.

Office of Judicial Administration Attorney Registration Office 301 SW 10th Avenue, Room 117 Topeka, Kansas 66612 Telephone: 785-296-8409 registration@kscourts.org